Practical info: which European countries do not have an airline?

Avatar photo

There are some countries in Europe who do not have national airline and depend mainly on foreign airlines for their international connections. Among these countries are the Liechtenstein, Monaco, San Marino and the Vatican.

Liechtenstein, a small landlocked state between Switzerland and Austria, does not have its own airline due to its small size and proximity to the international airports of its neighboring countries.

The Principality of Monaco also has no national airline. It relies on Nice-Côte d’Azur airports in France and Nice-Monaco Heliport airport for its air travel needs and is connected to these airports by helicopter shuttles.

San Marino, one of the oldest republics in the world, is another example of a country without an airline. Travelers to San Marino usually use Bologna or Rimini airports, located in Italy.

The Vatican, an independent state in the heart of Rome, does not have an airline either. Visitors and pilgrims usually fly to Rome Fiumicino International Airport or Rome Ciampino Airport to reach Vatican City.

Although these countries do not have a national airline, they are well connected to the rest of the world thanks to the services of international airlines and the airport infrastructure of their neighboring countries.

In conclusion, although some countries do not have a national airline, they manage to maintain efficient international air links by relying on the services of foreign companies and the airports of their neighboring countries. These unique countries offer travelers a unique and memorable experience due to their history, culture and natural beauty.

John Walker Avatar