FIFA World Cups 2026 and 2030: sporting trips in perspective…

Avatar photo

The 2026 FIFA World Cup is the 23e edition of the Men’s Football World Cup, a competition organized by FIFA and which brings together the best national teams. It will take place in June and July 2026 and will be jointly hosted by the United States, Canada and Mexico. FIFA has just given its choice for 2030. It is a question of not making the same mistake as with Qatar.

Spain, Portugal, Morocco and South America for 2030

Alejandro Dominguez, the president of Conmebol, the South American confederation, announced this Wednesday October 4 on Twitter that the Football World Cup would be played in 2030 on three continents and six countries. This new formula, and totally incoherent from a climatic point of view, was immediately confirmed by the International Football Federation, the all-powerful Fifa.

In detail, the joint candidacy set up by Spain, Portugal and Morocco is therefore the big winner of this announcement, but South America will still play a key role. And for good reason: this 2030 World Cup marks the centenary of the competition, a century after a first edition contested between 13 countries in Uruguay.

Uruguay, Paraguay and Argentina for the centenary

One hundred years after the first World Cup in history, three South American countries will each host one of the first three matches of the competition. A centenary celebration ceremony will also take place in the Uruguayan capital, Montevideo, FIFA said.

When this news was announced, Uruguayan President Luis Lacalle Pou rejoiced on Twitter that his country was, 100 years later, “the center of attention of the entire world”.

Saudi Arabia is trying to position itself for 2034

Saudi Arabia to bid to host the 2034 FIFA World Cup. To win, the kingdom must meet new hosting requirements, including an excellent human rights record and a commitment to sustainable development. There is work!

Catherine Mills Avatar